top of page

Bad Brains (1982)

Bad Brains is the debut studio album recorded by American hardcore punk/reggae band Bad Brains. Recorded in 1981 and released on the cassette-only label ROIR on February 5, 1982, many fans refer to it as "The Yellow Tape" because of its yellow packaging. Though Bad Brains had recorded the 16 song Black Dots album in 1979 and the 5-song Omega Sessions EP in 1980, the ROIR cassette was the band's first release of anything longer than a single.

Bad Brains - ROIR - 01 - Sallin' On
Bad Brains - ROIR - 02 - Don't Need It
Bad Brains - ROIR - 03 - Attitude
Bad Brains - ROIR - 04 - The Regulator
Bad Brains - ROIR - 05 - Banned in D C
Bad Brains - ROIR - 06 - Jah Calling
Bad Brains - ROIR - 07 - Supertouch / Shitfit
Bad Brains - ROIR - 08 - Leaving Babylon

Rock for Light (1983)

Rock for Light is the second full-length album by hardcore punk pioneers Bad Brains, released in 1983. It was produced by Ric Ocasek of The Cars. The 1991 re-issue was remixed by Ocasek and bass player Darryl Jenifer. The re-issued version has some extra tracks, an altered track order, significantly different mixes and, on most tracks, a speed increase of the master which results in a raising of the pitch by one-half step. It was the last Bad Brains album to feature only these two styles of music, as the band eventually experimented with funk, soul and heavy metal. Kurt Cobain listed Rock for Light in his top fifty albums of all time.